Arkansas Black Hall of Fame

The Arkansas Black Hall of Fame was founded in 1992 by Charles O. Stewart and Patricia Y. Goodwin as a means of recognizing the best and brightest African Americans with Arkansas roots. The first induction ceremony was held on October 30, 1993, in the exhibition hall of Robinson Auditorium. Each year, six inductees from diverse fields of endeavor are recognized for their contribution to African-American culture and to the nation. In 1998, seven inductees were selected.

Nominations are received from across the country offering recommendation for induction into the hall. The board of the Arkansas Black Hall of Fame, after a comprehensive review of the submitted nominations, makes the final selection of inductees. Past honorees have included writers, singers, actors, visual artists, musicians, athletes, politicians, religious leaders, doctors, lawyers, educators, scientists, and civic and social leaders who have attained national or international acclaim. Selections are revealed to the public during the first week of September prior to the induction ceremony, usually held the third Saturday of October. In 2017, the Arkansas Black Hall of Fame inducted no new individuals but, instead, honored all previous inductees at a twenty-fifth anniversary gala.

The Arkansas Black Hall of Fame portrait gallery is located in the rotunda of the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock (Pulaski County). On September 20, 2008, a more extensive permanent exhibit opened in two galleries of the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, a museum of the Department of Arkansas Heritage. The Black Hall of Fame Exhibit has a “living component,” and each year a Hall of Fame laureate will return to perform a concert and or give a lecture as a part of the museum’s public programs.

The Arkansas Black Hall of Fame induction ceremony helps to fund the Arkansas Black Hall of Fame Foundation, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that provides grants to organizations working to improve education, youth development, health/wellness, and economic development in black and other under-served communities throughout Arkansas. These grants have affected more than forty-five of Arkansas’s seventy-five counties since 2003. The grants program is a fund of the Arkansas Community Foundation.



 Maya Angelou

 Daisy Gatson Bates

 Ernest Green

 G. W. Stanley Ish Sr.

 John H. Johnson

 Lottie Shackelford



 Evangeline K. Brown

 George Howard

 Ernest P. Joshua Sr.

 James McKissic

 Art Porter Sr.

 Debbye Turner



 Hubert “Geese” Ausbie

 Woodrow W. Crockett

 Joycelyn Elders

 Ethel and James Kearney

 Robert McFerrin Sr.

 William Grant Still



 Lawrence A. Davis

 Grover Evans

 Scipio A. Jones

 Herwald H. Morton

 Andree Layton Roaf

 O. C. Smith



 Barbara Higgins Bond

 Gretha Boston

 Lloyd C. Elam

 Keith Jackson

 Samuel Lee Kountz

 Rodney Slater



 Daisy Anderson

 Wiley Branton Sr.

 Mike Conley

 Danny Davis

 Anita Pointer

 Phyllis Yvonne Stickney



 Ernest James Harris

 Gertrude Hadley Jeannette

 Eliza Miller

 Vice Admiral Edward Moore Jr.

 Johnnie Taylor

 John W. Walker



 Floyd Brown

 Lela Rochon Fuqua

 E. Lynn Harris

 Theressa Hoover

 Dr. Wilbert C. Jordan

 Roy Roberts



 Granville Coggs

 Henri Linton

 Mahlon Martin

 Sidney Moncrief

 Amina Claudine Myers

 Ozell Sutton



 Al Bell

 Faye Clarke

 William Jefferson Clinton (Honorary)

 Edith Irby Jones

 Haki Madhubuti

 Charles H. Mason



 James H. Cone

 Gladys Mc Fadden
  & the Loving Sisters

 Lawrence Hamilton

 Deborah Mathis

 J. Donald Rice

 Honorable Lavenski R. Smith



 W. Harold Flowers

 Hazel Hynson

 Patricia McGraw

 Fatima Robinson

 Pharoah Sanders

 John Stroger Jr.



 Fran Bennett

 Lou Brock

 Martha Dixon

 David Evans

 Dr. Sybil Jordan Hampton

 Louis Jordan



 Oliver Baker

 Charles Bussey

 Judge Glenn Johnson

 Emma Rhodes

 Henry Shead

 Lencola Sullivan-Verseveldt



 Milton Crenchaw

 Judge L. Clifford Davis

 Willie Davis

 Little Rock Nine

 John Stubblefield

 Sheryl Underwood



 Torii Hunter

 Rose McCoy

 Joseph Daniel McQuany

 Michelle Revere

 A. D. Washington

 Sterling Williams



 Charles E. Blake Sr.

 Erma Glasco Davis

 Delores Handy

 James E. K. Hildreth

 W. R. “Smokie” Norful

 Samuel W. Williams



 Annie M. Abrams

 ReShonda Tate Billingsley

 Timothy C. Evans

 William J. Johnson

 Shaffer Chimere “Ne-Yo” Smith

 Reece “Goose” Tatum



 Abraham Carpenter Sr. and Family

 Leo Louis “Jocko” Carter

 Derek Fisher

 Kathryn Hall-Trujillo

 Joseph (Joe) Jackson

 Robert L. Williams



 Jerry T. Hodges

 Charles E. Phillips Jr.

 Pearlie S. Reed

 Yolonda R. Summons

 Sister Rosetta Tharpe

 Lenny Williams



 Gerald Alley

 Richard E. Anderson

 Morris Hayes

 Raye Jean Montague

 Art Porter Jr.

 Willie Roaf



 Vertie Carter

 Colette Honorable

 Ricky Jasper

 Olly Neal Jr.

 Bass Reeves

 Bobby Rush



 Luenell Batson

 Mildred Barnes Griggs

 Cortez Kennedy

 Donnie L. Lindsey

 Eddie Reed

 C. Michael Tidwell



 June Carter-Perry

 Gregory A. Davis

 Mifflin Wistar Gibbs

 Hall Family

 Richard L. Mays

 Cynthia Scott



Kevin Cole

Brent Jennings

LTG Aundre Piggee

Florence B. Price

Darrell Walker

Mary-Louise Williams


For additional information:
Arkansas Black Hall of Fame. (accessed June 14, 2017).

“Arkansas Black Hall of Fame to Induct 6.” Arkansas Democrat-Gazette. September 9, 2009, p. 2B.

Williams, Helaine R. “Social Eyes—Their Place in History: Governor, Guests Applaud Arkansas Black Hall of Fame Inductees.” Arkansas Democrat-Gazette. October 25, 2009, p. 2D.

Charles Stewart
Arkansas Black Hall of Fame

Last Updated: 09/06/2018