Arkansas Women's Hall of Fame

The Arkansas Women’s Hall of Fame supports the accomplishments and achievements of Arkansas women through an annual selection process, statewide ceremony, and traveling exhibit. The Arkansas Women’s Hall of Fame began in 2015 through a partnership between the North Little Rock Chamber of Commerce and Arkansas Business Publishing Group of Little Rock (Pulaski County). According to Arkansas News, the chamber’s president and CEO, Terry Hartwick, initiated the partnership and subsequent Hall of Fame after realizing that the Arkansas Business Hall of Fame included mostly men.

Both contemporary (living) and historical (deceased) women are eligible for induction, as long as they were born in Arkansas or lived in Arkansas for an extended period of time. According to the criteria for induction, the nominee should have done the following: made significant and enduring contributions to her field of endeavor, professional or otherwise; impacted the social, cultural, economic, or political well-being of the community, state, or nation; elevated the status of women and positively impacted women and girls; helped open new frontiers for women and for society in general; and inspired others by her example. Nominations for induction can be made by individuals or organizations throughout the state. Individual women may be nominated, as well as a group or class of women mutually involved with an event or movement.

Once nominations are submitted and received, the Arkansas Women’s Hall of Fame Board appoints a selection committee composed of a diverse group of Arkansas citizens. The selection committee receives nomination materials in the summer, ranks each nominee individually, and holds a meeting to reach a consensus. The 2015 inaugural inductees were chosen from a field of seventy-three nominations.

The 2020 inauguration ceremony was delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, being rescheduled for the following August, when it was rescheduled again for April 2022. Two additional inductees were added for the 2022 celebration.

Arkansas Women’s Hall of Fame Inductees 

2015 Mary Ann Ritter Arnold

Daisy Gatson Bates

Betty Bumpers

Hattie Caraway

Hillary Rodham Clinton

Hester Davis

Roberta W. Fulbright

Dr. Mary Good

Johnelle Hunt

Dr. Edith Irby Jones

Alice Walton

Women’s Emergency Committee

2016 Kay Kelley Arnold

Dr. Bettye Caldwell

Cathy Cunningham

Dr. M. Joycelyn Elders

Dr. Betty Ann Lowe

Religious Sisters of Mercy of the Americas

Lottie Shackelford

Patti Upton

Pat Walker

2017 Maya Angelou

June B. Freeman

Ruth Hawkins

Brinda Jackson

Bernice Young Jones

Pat Lile

Olivetan Benedictine Sisters

Judge Elsijane Trimble Roy

Dr. Joanna Seibert

Dorothy Stuck

2018 Dr. Carolyn F. Blakely

Karen Flake

Dr. Sue Griffin

Raye Jean Jordan Montague

Bessie Grace Boehm Moore

Florence Beatrice Smith Price

Annabelle Davis Clinton Imber Tuck

Women’s Foundation of Arkansas

2019 Alice Andrews

Beta Pi Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority

Carolyn Witherspoon

Charlotte Tillar Schexnayder

Diane Frances Divers Kincaid Blair

Jo Luck

Louise McPhetridge Thaden

Olivia Farrell

2022 Dr. Margaret Louise Sirman Clark

Cynthia L. Conger

Dorothy Morris

Carolyn Pollan

Amy Rossi

Sister Rosetta Tharpe

Mary Brown “Brownie” Williams Ledbetter

Hispanic Women’s Organization of Arkansas

Sissy Jones

Junior League of Little Rock

2023 Sandra Keiser Edwards

Cathy Hastings Owen

Pat Steele Qualls

Nan Snow

Joyce Williams Warren

Dorothy McFadden Hoover

Adolphine Fletcher Terry

Women’s Giving Circle

2024 Bernie Babcock

Betty Dickey

Gussie Haynie

Dr. Jacquelyn Williams McCray

Jamileh Kamran

JoAnne Bush

Kathy Webb

Committee of One Hundred for the Ozark Folk Center

For additional information:
Arkansas Women’s Hall of Fame. (accessed September 6, 2023).

“Arkansas Women’s Hall of Fame Inducts 10 for 2017 Class.” Arkansas Business, May 22, 2017. (accessed September 6, 2023).

“Arkansas Women’s Hall of Fame Names First Inductees.” Arkansas News, June 22, 2015. (accessed September 6, 2023).

Hosticka, Alex. “Inaugural Inductees Honored at Arkansas Women’s Hall of Fame.” Arkansas Business, August 28, 2015.

Rachel Hoge
Conway, Arkansas


No comments on this entry yet.