Arkansas Democrat Newsroom

Arkansas Democrat newsroom; 1947. (Foreground, left to right): city editor Allen Tilden, John Scudder, Marcus George, and Roger Neunn. (Background, left to right): Unidentified, George Douthit, Unidentified, Virgene Robinson, Bob McCord, Ken Francis, O. D. Gunter, Leo Martin, Effie Laura Wooten, managing editor Eddie Liske, cartoonist Jon Kennedy, sports reporter Fred Petrucelli, and general assignment reporter Matilda Touhey.

Room full of white men and women working on their typewriters

Courtesy of the Butler Center for Arkansas Studies, Central Arkansas Library System