• No categories

Entries - Entry Category: Saline - Starting with R

Rubicon (Saline County)

A historic rural community in Dyer Township in Saline County during the late 1800s and early 1900s, Rubicon was located in the vicinity of the Alum Fork of the Saline River. Modern maps have it situated along Arkansas State Highway 9 approximately two miles north of the intersection of Arkansas State Highways 9 and 5 at Crows (Saline County), approximately thirteen miles west of Benton (Saline County) and twenty-one miles east of Hot Springs (Garland County). Early settlers to the area were hardy pioneers who farmed and hunted the rich lands along the Saline River and eastern Ouachita Mountains. One of the earliest families to arrive in the area were the Dyers, for whom the township was named. Charles Dyer …