Arkansas Academy of Science

The Arkansas Academy of Science (AAS) aims for the promotion of knowledge in the fields of science, engineering, technology, and mathematics and the diffusion of that knowledge. The AAS is the Arkansas component of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

The first meeting of the Arkansas Academy of Science occurred in 1917. The AAS was created by a group of Arkansas scientists who wanted to develop a vehicle for the promotion of science as well as dissemination of research by Arkansas scientists. This was achieved by organizing annual meetings and publishing a journal.

The annual meetings include sessions in which fledgling scientists present their findings in areas of biological and physical science as well as engineering, mathematics, and computer science. Awards are given in each area, as are small grants to support additional research. The meetings are held annually the second weekend of April at various locations around the state selected by the executive committee of the academy.

The AAS published the first volume of the journal Proceedings of the Arkansas Academy of Science in 1941, followed by the second volume in 1947. From 1950 on, the journal has been published annually. In 1997, the title of the journal was changed to the Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science. Through abstracting and exchange services, as well as subscriptions, the journal is distributed to some thirty states and twenty-five countries. The AAS also produces a regular newsletter.

Distinguished Arkansas scientists who have served as president of the AAS include the first president, Charles Brookover, as well as Dwight M. Moore, Ruth Armstrong, C. E. Hoffman, Jewel Moore, Joe Nix, P. Max Johnson, N. D. Buffaloe, Ed Dale, Art Fry, George Templeton, Ed Bacon, Gary Heidt, David Chittenden, Peggy Dorris, Stan Trauth, Betty Crump, Paul Sharrah, and many others.

For additional information:
Arkansas Academy of Science. (accessed February 7, 2022).

Arkansas Academy of Science Journal Archive. University of Arkansas Libraries. (accessed February 7, 2022).

Collis R. Geren
University of Arkansas, Fayetteville


No comments on this entry yet.