Arkansas Department of Commerce

As part of the large-scale reorganization of state government under Act 910 of 2019, the Arkansas Legislature established the Arkansas Department of Commerce, under which the following entities are organized: Arkansas Division of Aeronautics, Arkansas Securities Department, Arkansas State Bank Department, Arkansas Insurance Department, Governor’s Commission on People with Disabilities, Arkansas Wine Producers Council, Arkansas Waterways Commission, Minority Business Advisory Council, Arkansas Department of Aeronautics Commission, Arkansas Aviation and Aerospace Commission, Burial Association Board, State Banking Board, Arkansas Development Finance Authority, State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors, State Rehabilitation Council, Arkansas Rural Development Commission, Economic Development of Arkansas Fund Commission, Arkansas Economic Development Commission (AEDC), Division of Workforce Services, Arkansas Housing Trust Fund, Arkansas Science and Technology Authority, Career Education and Workforce Development Board, State Board of Career Education, and Office of Skills Development.

Governor Asa Hutchinson appointed Michael “Mike” Preston executive director of the AEDC in March 2015, and Preston became the cabinet secretary of the Department of Commerce in 2019.

For additional information:
Arkansas Department of Commerce. (accessed December 27, 2019).

Staff of the CALS Encyclopedia of Arkansas



No comments on this entry yet.